WEEKLY #5: Wondering in a Google Galaxy

My God, I thought, Google knows what our culture wants!
John Battelle, The Search

I control Earth.When I think of galaxies, they seem to be so huge that I am not even a tiny dust comparing to them.  It scares me.  When I think of Google, it kind of makes me feel the same.  However, I can survive without thinking of galaxies — I hardly can handle life without Google though.  I decided to write Google an e-mail last week asking if I could make a visit to one of their “Off Silicon Valley” offices as a guest.  And guess what, my e-mail did not disappear in the Google galaxy black hole — its press service got back to me less than in 24 hours saying that (of course) no, I cannot visit their office due to their policies.  But, markets are conversations: now I feel like at least a tiny dust in a Google galaxy.

One of my friends is Google’s biggest fan.  When we have talked about Google lately, he adoringly stated something about Google’s being better than any possible opponent company in its field.  In response I said that Google buys every possible opponent.  Just like a king who wants to kill the baby fearing that the baby will take away his power later. Monopoly rocks.  Google owns 85.78% of global search market share; more than ten percent of the world population visit Google.com daily.

Having the motto of Don’t Be Evil, Google already stopped being just a search engine.  It is business and power, it is everywhere of our lives – starting from cell phones with Android to Google Docs, e-mails, maps.  It tracks the search histories of millions of people.  It is tricky and intimidating to have some massive engines to track every step of your curiosity.  At this moment you understand that human life is already divided into regular and virtual life, even if you do not want it.  What is online about you is going to stay forever.

Let’s assume there will not be anything left from you to your grand-grandchildren.  Let’s suppose he or she will Google it (and Google will still be functioning.)  Is not it amazing, that there will be something about you there? Because You’re a Nobody Unless Your Name Googles Well.  Probably that is why one have to make sure that the grand-grandchildren will not see you as a half-naked teenage drinking cocktail. When it is most likely that Google will own the internet.

I’m 01100110 01100101 01100101 01101100 01101001 01101110 01100111 00100000 01101100 01110101 01100011 01101011 01111001 00001010 means “I am feeling lucky.” Are we?  I think we are and there is nothing to be scared of.

2 thoughts on “WEEKLY #5: Wondering in a Google Galaxy”

Leave a Reply

